Dr Clive Davenport

Clive Davenport is the Chairman of the Small Technologies Cluster (STC) and a member of the Australian Government’s National Enabling Technologies Strategy (NETS) Council. He is also Director Emeritus of MANCEF, the global organisation focused on accelerating the commercialisation and uptake of small-scale technologies, serving as President from 2006 to 2012. In 2009 he was appointed Director of CSIRO’s National Future Manufacturing Flagship. He was previously the CEO of the CRC for microTechnology (2000-2006) and its spin-off businesses, a collaborative research initiative between industry, research and government.

He was also an Executive Director of GBC Scientific Equipment (1982-1999) a company that grew from a start-up to an international success; exporting to over 80 countries and winning numerous Australian export, manufacturing and technology awards, including a prestigious international “R&D 100 Award”.

Clive has extensive experience in high technology industry from managing research programs, developing commercial products, establishing international markets, and taking start-up businesses to global success.


Michael Wilkinson

Michael Wilkinson was one of the driving forces behind the set-up of STC and remains actively involved in developing and growing the organisation. In his role at STC, Michael liases with both Federal and State Governments, universities and industry. Through his involvement with STC, Michael helped to establish the South East Melbourne Innovation Precinct (SEMIP). Michael was integral in STC’s successful bid to manage the Victorian Government’s Small Technology Industry Uptake Program (STIUP) that has since evolved into the Technical Voucher Program (TVP). Michael is a founding investor and Chairman of the Board of MiniFAB, a contract engineering firm that provides customized polymer microfluidic solutions for clients across a range of industries, with particular expertise in the diagnostics and medical device sectors.


Dr Erol Harvey

Erol Harvey is a Director of STC Australia and CEO and co-founder of MiniFAB, a global company specialised in microfluidic product design, development and manufacturing, which has its global headquarters at STC. Erol has successfully combined a distinguished academic career and entrepreneurial spirit with a PhD in Plasma and Laser Physics from Monash University. He spent time in Oxford, UK before returning to Australia in 1999 to become Professor of Microtechnology at Swinburne University.

His team was the seed for the subsequent formation of the CRC for MicroTechnology, an AUD$75M vehicle that brought together Australian academia and industry, attracting such names as Cochlear Ltd, Robert Bosch Australia, and the Australian Institute of Sports.  A founding Director of the Australian Nano Business Forum (ANBF), in 2006 Erol was elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE).


Dr Kees Eijkel
CEO, Kennispark Twente

Kees Eijkel is a Director of STC Australia and CEO of Kennispark Twente, the shell for commercialization in and around the University of Twente and Saxion University, in cooperation with the province of Overijssel and the city of Enschede on behalf of the cities in the region.

As managing director of the University Holding, Kees manages the university’s participations. He has actively supported many new start-up firms. He holds a number of executive and non-executive positions in foundations and companies involved in innovation. He is board member and past president of the international Micro and Nano Commercialization Education Foundation MANCEF. Before Kennispark,

Kees was technical-commercial director of the MESA+ Institute for Nanotechnology.He holds an M.Sc. in Mathematics from the University of Amsterdam and a Ph.D. in Technical Sciences from the University of Twente.